“Original” Henna designs

I’ve never been very good at arts and crafts. I can’t sketch something from memory or draw things from my mind. will be horrible. But, I’ve always had this ability to replicate another drawing, fairly well. (Provided it’s not too complicated and I actually have the patience to draw.)

In the past few years, I’ve been trying my hand at doing henna (no pun intended!) aka mehendi designs. Mainly I do it for my sister, cousins, and myself in preparation for Eid celebrations. Generally, I follow sample designs I find online, but the other night at a pajama party with my girlfriends, I decided be a little crazy. I ventured out of my comfort zone, tried to recall simple designs I’ve done in the past, and used my dear brave friends’ hands as guinea pigs in my new attempt at originality.

First original attempt

Arm art!

Really, no design is truly “original.” It’s all about recycling and recombining. (Isn’t that the case with all creative outlets, anyway?) There are several traditional designs that you can pair with other designs to create an unlimited number of patterns for either the hands or feet. It’s all a matter of being able to maintain consistency and retain an overall sense of intricate beauty. That means, no skull and bones, no sunflowers, no generic “tattoo” designs. Sure, you can get any design you really want to since it’s a “temporary tat” but as far as the culture goes, I’m good with sticking to the norm and improving on the details.

7 responses to ““Original” Henna designs

  1. I think your henna designs are beautiful, you gave me some ideas! Keep practicing and maybe you’ll be able to do a wedding one day : )

    • Oh my…I don’t know if I’ll ever be good enough to do wedding henna. Too much pressure! Haha. But it would certainly be something to add to the resume. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Past Eid Henna | Everything in Between·

  3. I’d love to have you do some of your beautiful henna at my wedding shower…would that be possible? 🙂

Leave a Reply

